Health Sciences Division
back to Health Sciences home page

Nursing, Registered

The associate of applied science degree with specialization in nursing prepares graduates to function as beginning registered nurse practitioners and members of the health care team in the care of acutely and chronically ill individuals with common illnesses. Registered nurses are qualified for employment in structured practice settings, including acute care hospitals, extended care facilities, nursing homes, clinics and physicians’ offices. With experience, nurses may also participate in providing skilled care in more specialized areas, including psychiatric units, emergency departments, pediatric and obstetric units, critical care units and home health settings. Job pay is exceptional, averaging $64,000 annually for practicing nurses, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, and is a flexible and mobile career choice.

Upon program completion, students will be prepared and eligible to apply for licensure in the State of Michigan. Students must meet the Michigan Board of Nursing eligibility requirements and successfully pass the National Council Licensure Exam (NCLEX-RN) in order to become a licensed registered nurse.

General Information Progam Admission/How to Apply
Faculty and Staff
Kimberly Lindquist, Dean/Director of Nursing 384-4101 klindquist@monroeccc.edu H-115
Staff
Rachel Riffle, Administrative Assistant 384-4102 rriffle@monroeccc.edu H-120
Lori Biggs, Nursing Program Coordinator 384-4248 lbiggs@monroeccc.edu H-117
Faculty
Nicole Garner, R.N., M.S.N., C.N.E. 384-4173 ngarner@monroeccc.edu H-118
Tracy Giacomini, R.N., M.S.N. 384-4253 tgiacomini@monroeccc.edu H-153
Dawn Lymond, R.N., M.S.N. 384-4266 dlymond@monroeccc.edu H-151
Denise Robinson, R.N., M.S.N., C.N.E. 384-4265 ddrobinson@monroeccc.edu H-116
Michelle Schwartz, R.N., M.S.N. 457-6025 mschwartz@monroeccc.edu H-152