Rachael Miska, MCCC Director of Student Success Gerald McCarty II and Emily Klyder

 From left, Rachael Miska, MCCC Director of Student Success Gerald McCarty II and Emily Klyder.


MONROE, Mich. --  Monroe County Community College students Rachael Miska of Newport and Emily Klyder of Monroe have been selected to the 2022 All Michigan Academic Team by the Phi Theta Kappa Honors Society, the official honor society for two-year colleges.

Miska and Klyder were nominated by MCCC based on their academic achievement, community service involvement and leadership accomplishment. To be part of Phi Theta Kappa, students must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher and have completed at least 12 hours of coursework towards an associate or bachelor’s degree or 6 hours of coursework toward a 1-year certificate.

In addition, Miska has been named a 2022 Coca-Cola Academic Team Gold Scholar and will receive a $1,500 scholarship. The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation sponsors the Coca-Cola Academic Team program by recognizing 50 Gold, 50 Silver, and 50 Bronze Scholars with nearly $200,000 in scholarships annually. Coca-Cola Academic Team members will be recognized in both local and statewide ceremonies and will also be recognized internationally during Phi Theta Kappa's annual convention, PTK Catalyst, to be held in Denver, Colorado, April 7-9.

“The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation has a long history of providing financial assistance to outstanding students at community colleges,” said Jane Hale Hopkins, president of the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation. “We are proud to partner with Phi Theta Kappa to make it possible for more deserving students to achieve their educational goals and support tomorrow’s leaders of the global community.”

Miska attends the Monroe County Middle College on MCCC's campus and is dual enrolled as an MCCC student. She plans to major in nursing at MCCC, and her ultimate goal is to pursue further education to become a nurse practitioner. She is the vice president of MCCC’s Phi Theta Kappa chapter. Miska participates in various community service projects, is a member of MCCC Student Government and the college’s Honors Program, and serves as a peer tutor. 

Klyder, who is also a Monroe County Middle College student dual enrolled at MCCC, plans to further her education in pre-medicine at a university and eventually become an orthopedic surgeon. She studies multiple languages in her spare time to prepare for her biggest dream, which is to participate in medical missions. She is president of MCCC’s Phi Theta Kappa chapter.

About Monroe County Community College

Founded in 1964, Monroe County Community College is a public, two-year institution supported by tax monies from Monroe County, educational funds from the State of Michigan and student tuition.  The college’s mission is to enrich lives in our community by providing opportunity through student-focused, affordable, quality higher education and other learning experiences.  The Main Campus is located at 1555 South Raisinville Road, Monroe, Mich., 48161, with easy access to Toledo and Detroit.  The Whitman Center is located in Temperance, Mich., 48182, near the Ohio-Michigan Border.  Detailed information about MCCC is available at

About Phi Theta Kappa

Phi Theta Kappa recognizes the academic achievement of college students and provides opportunities for its members to grow as scholars and leaders. Established in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa has a presence on almost 1,300 community college campuses in 11 nations. The American Association of Community Colleges recognized Phi Theta Kappa as the official honor society for two-year colleges in 1929. More than 3.5 million students have been inducted since 1918, with approximately 250,000 active members in the nation’s community colleges, making Phi Theta Kappa a true catalyst among members and colleges. Learn more at

About the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation

The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation celebrates and empowers visionary leaders who are refreshing the world. Supporting more than 1,400 exceptional college students each year, it awards $3.55 million in scholarships annually through three nationally recognized programs. Learn more at

Marketing & Communications

Joe Verkennes
Director of Marketing and Communications
Monroe County Community College
1555 S. Raisinville Rd., Monroe, MI  48161

Mobile Phone