MCCC Presents Awards to Students, Programs and Faculty During Recent Honors Night Celebration

Monroe, Mich.- Monroe County Community College has honored the following students, organizations, faculty and adjunct faculty for their achievements during the 2022-23 academic year.

The Faculty Association Outstanding Student Award recipient was Jewell Mason of Monroe and the President’s Academic Achievement Award recipients included Kylee Danish, Owen Hoffner, Marie Seaver, Mya Snow and Sydney Spicer of Monroe; Amanda Hammer and Julia Payne of Temperance, Alaina Harford of Maybee, and Rachael Miska, Kline Peare and Shea Peare of Newport.

Student awards in the Applied Science and Engineering Technology Division included Outstanding Welding Technology Students, Samuel Watters of Monroe and Evan Wielfaert of Britton; Outstanding Construction Management Technology Student, Eli Sleeker of Dundee; and Outstanding Manufacturing Student, Owen Hoffner of Monroe. 

Student awards in the Business Division were presented to Monroe residents Ashley Angel for Outstanding Computer Information Systems Student and Jennifer Smith for Outstanding Accounting Student. 

Health Science Division student award recipients included Outstanding Nursing Students Markie Ziegler of LaSalle and Logan Scharer of Monroe for Class of December 2022 and Katherine Fowler of Monroe for Class of May 2023; Peer Spirit of Nursing Awards were presented to Meghan Jordan of Monroe and Ikeisha Smith of Detroit for Class of December 2022 and Devon Trombley of Trenton for Class of May 2023; Excellence in Practical Nursing Award to Elizabeth Russeau of Temperance; Practical Nursing Student Peer Recognition Award to Angela Kowalski of Belleville; and Outstanding Respiratory Therapy Student Darrian Pratt of Monroe. In addition to the above individual awards in the Health Science Division, the Respiratory Therapy Even Year Club of 2022-23 spaghetti dinner for community members was acknowledged as the Outstanding Student Program of the Year.

Student awards presented in the Humanities/Social Sciences Division included Outstanding Humanities Student to Brooke Giedelin of Newport; Outstanding Social Sciences Student to Karlie King of Dundee; Excellence in Journalism to Megan Kane of Monroe and William Johnson of Flat Rock; and Outstanding Journalism Student to Lexi Greenwood of Monroe.

The Science/Mathematics Division student awards included Outstanding Freshman Chemistry Award to Danish; Outstanding Mathematics Students Ethan Parker of Monroe and Jaselyn Porter of Carleton; and Outstanding Early Childhood Education Students Brittany Albain of Deerfield and Ally Jacobs of Carleton. 

Other student awards included Outstanding Student Symposium Presentation Awards to Mason, Paige Brescol of Dundee, Charnita Gordon of Monroe, and the George Rhodes Writing Fellow Award to Paige Smith of Carleton and Mason; and The Dr. Ronald Campbell Student Government Award to Alaina Hartford of Monroe, president of MCCC's Student Government Association, Daygan Wortley, of Monroe, secretary of SGA and Mario Tucker of Monroe, liaison of SGA. 

Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Award recipient Melody Carmichael, Science/Mathematics Division, and Outstanding Faculty Award recipient Jenna Bazzell, associate professor of English, were selected based on a process by which students and staff nominate whom they consider to be outstanding faculty.  The award recipients are selected by a committee comprised of faculty, support staff, administrators, and students. 

Other awards presented to MCCC faculty members included Outstanding Diversity Program of the Year Award presented to Barbara Mauter, faculty specialist and tutor, for her presentation CREED: Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women.

MCCC Honors Reception Program

About Monroe County Community College

Founded in 1964, Monroe County Community College is a public, two-year institution supported by tax monies from Monroe County, educational funds from the State of Michigan and student tuition.  

The college’s mission is to enrich and transform lives by providing opportunities and excellence in higher education.  The Main Campus is located at 1555 South Raisinville Road, Monroe, Mich., 48161, with easy access to Toledo and Detroit.  The Whitman Center is located at 7777 Lewis Ave.,Temperance, Mich., 48182, near the Ohio-Michigan Border.  Detailed information about MCCC is available at

Jewell Mason Student photo

Jewell Mason (above), multiple student award recipient

Melody Carmichael Adjunct Faculty

Melody Carmichael (above), Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Award recipient

Jenna Bazzell Professor

Jenna Bazzell (above), Outstanding Faculty Award recipient





Marketing & Communications

Joe Verkennes
Director of Marketing and Communications
Monroe County Community College
1555 S. Raisinville Rd., Monroe, MI  48161

Mobile Phone