Strategic Planning

2020-25 Monroe County Community College Strategic Plan

The 2020-25 Monroe County Community College Strategic Plan, framed by the college's Mission, Vision and Values, was built upon input from across every area of campus.

  • Joe Verkennes, Director of Marketing and Communications, Co-Chair
  • Quri Wygonik, Director of Institutional Research, Planning and Accreditation, Co-chair
  • Kim Lindquist, Dean of Health Sciences and Director of Nursing, Secretary
  • Kojo Quartey, President, Ex-officio
  • Scott Behrens, Vice President of Enrollment Management and Student Success
  • Lori Biggs, Nursing Program Coordinator
  • Parmeshwar Coomar, Dean of the Applied Science and Engineering Technology Division
  • Kendall Comer, Student Government Representative
  • Kevin Cooper, Dean of the Science/Math Division
  • Penny Dorcey, Executive Assistant to the President and Board of Trustees
  • Rachel Eagle, Administrative Assistant to the Dean of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Nicole Garner, Professor of Nursing
  • Tracy Giacomini, Associate Professor of Nursing
  • Kelly Heinzerling, Director of Purchasing and Auxiliary Services
  • Kristina Henry, Experiential Learning Coordinator
  • Barry Kinsey, Director of Workforce Development
  • Leon Letter, Dean of the Business Division 
  • Josh Myers, Executive Director of The Foundation at MCCC
  • Jeff Peters, Coordinator of E-Learning and Instructional Support
  • Brianna Pio, Institutional Research Analyst
  • Robin Smith, Adjunct Instructor, Humanities
  • Linda Torbet, Director of Human Resources
  • Patrick Wise, Professor of Psychology
  • Daygan Wortley, Student Government Representative
  • Grace Yackee, Vice President of Instruction 



Quri Wygonik, Strategic Planning Committee Co-Chair and Director of Institutional Research, Planning, and Accreditation
Joe Verkennes, Strategic Planning Committee Co-Chair and Director of Marketing and Communications
Kimberly Lindquist, Strategic Planning Committee Vice-Chair, Dean of Health Sciences, and Director of Nursing
Nicole Garner, Professor of Nursing
Leon Letter, Dean of the Business Division
Joshua Myers, Executive Director of The Foundation at MCCC

To date, the Leadership Team has led the Subcommittees' completion of the following 2020-2023 Strategic Planning activities:

  • Writing the tactics to accomplish the Strategic Plan objectives
  • Reviewing and editing the tactics
  • Creation of the work assignment and progress tracking processes
  • Aligning the budget, timeline, and accountable groups for the tactics 
  • Updating the 2020-2025 Strategic Plan document to include the aligned tactics
  • Sharing the updated Strategic Plan document with the campus through the Council Model of Shared Governance

In-progress activities:

  • Monitoring the completion of the 2020-2025 Strategic Plan
  • Communicating about the implementation of the plan and incorporating key performance indicator dashboards
  • Writing strategic-planning related sections of the HLC Assurance Argument
  • Re-evaluating the Mission, Vision and Core Values
  • Evaluating the 2020-2025 Strategic Plan

Upcoming activities:

  • Spearheading the development of the 2026-2030 Strategic Plan

If you have specific questions regarding the Strategic Planning process at MCCC, please contact Quri Wygonik at or at (734) 384-4237.


Note: Effective November 2021, the Strategic Planning Committee voted to refer to all Subcommittees as Areas of the 2020-2025 Strategic Plan. Therefore, Subcommittee membership is no longer listed. Additionally, all former Subcommittee co-chairs are now referred to as sub-co-chairs:

Area 1: Improve Academic Advising/Academic and Non-academic Support
 Kim Lindquist, Tracy Giacomini

Area 2: Student-Driven Scheduling
Kevin Cooper, Nicole Garner

Area 3: Relevant Programming and Experiential Learning
 Leon Letter, Kristina Henry 

Area 4: Collaboration and Civility
Kelly Heinzerling, Linda Torbet

Area 5: Shared Governance
 Quri Wygonik, Robin Smith

Area 6: Portability of Courses And Coordinated Partnerships
Rachel Eagle, Tracy Vogt

Area 7: Student-Focused Campus Assessment/Adapt the Physical Environment 
Joe Verkennes, Josh Myers

Area 8: Align the Organizational Structure
 Vacant, Quri Wygonik

Area 9: New Training And Professional Development Practices
 Linda Torbet, Vacant

Strategic Plan

2020-25 Strategic Plan (updated May 24, 2021)

Strategic Plan Progress and Key Performance Indicators 

The college has developed a webpage that tracks all progress made on the objectives and tactics in the 2020-25 Strategic Plan, as well as links to the Key Performance Indicators that are impacted by each tactic in the plan. Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) are the critical (key) quantifiable indicators of progress toward an intended result. KPIs provide a focus for strategic and operational improvement, create an analytical basis for decision making and help focus attention on what matters most (Harlow, 2022).


Prior to the creation of the website detailing Strategic Plan progress, the college's Strategic Planning co-chairs made bi-annual presentations to the campus and Board of Trustees detailing plan progress.  These can be found below:

Fall 2021 Strategic Planning Update

Spring 2022 Strategic Planning Update

Fall 2022 Strategic Planning Update