One Book, One Community of Monroe County 2020

OBOC 2020 Poster

Dear OBOC Sponsors, Supporters, Reading Partners, Participants, Readers and Instructors,

This past year we found a great book, What the Eyes Don’t See, and created amazing programs around the themes in the book. The author, Dr. Mona Hanna-Attisha was scheduled to speak, and we were poised on the brink of another successful One Book, One Community of Monroe County (OBOC), but then we were shut down by the COVID-19 Pandemic. Well almost.

I would like everyone to know that while we were unable to participate in the events that we had planned, we had an extremely successful OBOC year. We shared more than 230 free books with students and our community. We had an outpouring of instructors at Monroe County Community College (MCCC) using What the Eyes Don’t See by Dr. Mona Hanna-Attisha in their classes and with their students; they created numerous events such as a student mock trial, a panel discussion with experts right out of Dr. Hanna-Attisha’s book, lectures, and documentaries. All events were free and open to students and the Monroe County community. We partnered with the Monroe County Library System (MCLS), and a majority of their book clubs had adopted What the Eyes Don’t See as one of their book club selections for 2020. MCLS also planned movies, crafts, and children’s programs adapted from the themes in our book selection this year. The River Raisin Institute was scheduled to present a program at the Bedford Branch Library.  We also partnered with the Monroe Museum and the staff had scheduled an informative lecture.

When we adopted What the Eyes Don’t See it was the Great Michigan Read selection for 2019-2020 and we were able to be part of the Great Michigan Read. The Michigan Humanities Council also provided us with some of the books we were able to give away free. I know that MCCC students, instructors, partnering schools, and the general public of Monroe County were impacted by reading this book. While OBOC’s month long calendar of events and programs culminated late in March, our readers have already enjoyed this year’s book selection. Sometimes the process is just as important as the product. And while I truly wish I could have attended each planned program, I believe we had a very successful One Book, One Community of Monroe County 2020.

I want to thank all who participated in the planning of OBOC 2020 and to our sponsors, Friends of OBOC and supporters of our Celebrity Waiter Night fundraiser. OBOC would not have been the success it was without your dedication.

Our 2021 Book Selection committee members are reading and evaluating titles for 2021. I expect it to be every bit as engaging as What the Eyes Don’t See by Dr. Mona Hanna-Attisha. Thank you all for participating with One Book, One Community of Monroe County.


Suzanne Krueger

One Book, One Community of Monroe County 2020 Coordinator



The Foundation at Monroe County Community College
Monroe County Community College
Monroe County Library System
Monroe Publishing Company - Monroe News


Williams Insurance Agency

The Agora
Friends of One Book, One Community
MCCC Writing Fellows
Monroe County Museum
Siena Heights University

Airport High School
Monroe High School
St. Mary Catholic Central High School

Nancy Bellaire
Victor and Bonnie Bellestri
Joe and Peggy Bellino
Ed Bomia
Janel & Pete Boss
Jack Burns, Jr.
Dr. Ronald Campbell
Doug and Diane Chaffin
Heith Clark
Mark Copping
Dr. Valerie Culler
Julie Domick & Kim Domick
William and Wendy Godfroy
Dr. Arun Gupta
Mary Hamilton
Beverly Hammerstrom
Crystal Heft
John Holladay
Ida Branch Library Book Club
Richard Janssens
Kristi and Jay Johnson
Jack and Cheryl Johnston
Joseph and Bonnie Joly
Glori and John Jonkman
Pamela Katschor
Amy Kollar
Terri Kovach
Mary Kreklau
Suzanne Krueger
Edmund La Clair
Dale Loveland
Patricia Malotke
Dr. William and Tricia McCloskey
Meadow Montessori School
Michael Mieden
Linda Milford
Kenneth and Susan R.S. Miller
Rick & Ruth Montcalm
Karen Mulvihill Younglove
Wilma Nartker
Ann Orwin
Jessica Otto
Lonnie Peppler-Moyer
Rachelle Reed
Dick and Marjorie Sieb
Rob & Debbie Sieb
Larry Smith
Mary Steinhauser
Michele Toll
Jane Vankirk
Lela Wadlin and Roger Olson
Tim Wittman
Cindy Yonovich


This project is funded in part by Michigan Humanities, an affiliate of the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Michigan Humanities Council Logos


Contact Information

One Book, One Community of Monroe County


Building / Office IconMonroe County Community College
Phone Icon 734-384-4153


Monday – Friday

8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.